-LOve.

1f683049d4569a88ea0640928d505202d3a4965d1cd2b27a69cafac3f9c524c7421bd22fe323c73a03549192e09010a0

Watching a sermon of Francis Chan I was inspired to write about loving God. Do we really know what it means to love God? God gave us the ultimate sacrifice, His Son. There is no greater love than this. Most of the time when you accept Christ in your life, you hear the gospel before you accept Him. So you get to realize that He laid down His life for you, and now you are free, right? Except that we stand there and don’t pick up our cross. To be honest I don’t think we know what it means to love our Savior. We always get to know what He did to show us His love, but we often don’t know what it means to love Him back.

I talked about this scripture in a previous post, “To live is Christ, to die is gain”. Do we really get this? It means that we die, we surrender our lives, to follow Him. We should be so totally in love with God the Father that giving it all up is the least we can do. There is a scary thought to this, and that is that this short bracket of time on earth is going to be the only place and time where we can surrender to show our love for Him. I don’t know about you guys, but I definitely want to stand at the gates of Heaven and be welcomed with words, “You are my beloved daughter, and I am well pleased with you”. This would be music to my soul. I want to be the best I can be and do the best I can do so that when I step into Heaven I know I have done the best I could’ve done. The last thing I want to do is to condemn you, but I would rather want you to re-think how you love your Father. We should be so passionately in love with God that these things are joyful sacrifices. We should feel like there is not enough to give back for what He gave us. The amazing thing is that God doesn’t expect us to do all of these things,  but I think we should realize that love is not a feeling, but it is a act. It is a decision you make and one that you show. If God is the number one in your life, if you love Him with all your heart and all your soul and all your mind, would you not want to give as much as you possibly can. It just makes sense. There are many people who follow Christ because they gain something from it, the blessing, the covering or the reward of heaven. The fact that we get to have access to God and to His love is beautiful enough. You should not be in it to receive, but to surrender with a thankful heart, for what He has done for you. In the book of Philippians Paul talks about the fact that he would like to go to heaven and be with his heavenly Father. Then he realizes that this is his only chance to show his fruitful labor. This is his only chance to sacrifice what he has. We will never be able to sacrifice enough, but let’s push forward to do the best that we can do. Refresh our lives Lord, open our eyes so that we can see Your great love.

*Glory to His name for the greatest sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

